Student SIG Roundtable #2: Hosting Game Jams

Hey everyone!

Our first online roundtable went pretty well! We ran into some technical difficulties with the recording, but we’re getting better at hosting these event. Now, it’s time to announce our next roundtable:

Student SIG Roundtable #2

Topic: Hosting Game Jams. What are some lessons that your chapter learned from hosting game jams? What would you recommend to chapters who are hosting their first game jam?

Date & Time: Friday, December 15th at 1:00pm EST. The event will last 90 minutes. Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Friday 10:00am PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Friday 12:00pm CDT (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Friday 1:00pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Friday 6:00pm GMT (London)
  • Friday 9:00pm GMT+3 (Istanbul)
  • Friday 11:30pm IST (Mumbai)
  • Saturday 2:00am PHT (Manila)
  • Saturday 3:00am JST (Tokyo)
  • Saturday 5:00am AEDT (Sydney)
  • Convert to your local timezone

Location: We’ll use GoToMeeting, so it’s best to join the call from a laptop or computer. When the event starts, look for the join link which will either be sent to your email or posted on our socialmedia accounts.

Read moreStudent SIG Roundtable #2: Hosting Game Jams

Student SIG Roundtable #1: Student-Run Game Projects

Hello everyone!

The new school year has been off to a great start. Most of the academic chapters have now finished the yearly renewal process, which means the Student SIG is now ready to start hosting events. As promised, our first event will be a virtual roundtable discussion with other academic chapter leaders.

Student SIG Roundtable #1

Topic: Student-Run Game Projects. How does your chapter encourage students to develop games on their free time? What tips and resources do you provide to help student projects succeed?

Date & Time: Saturday, October 29th at 4:00pm EST. The event will last 90 minutes. Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • 1:00pm PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • 3:00pm CDT (Mexico City, Houston)
  • 4:00pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • 9:00pm BST (London)
  • 11:00pm GMT+3 (Istanbul)
  • 1:30am IST (Mumbai)
  • 4:00am PHT (Manila)
  • 5:00am JST (Tokyo)
  • 7:00am AEDT (Sydney)
  • Convert to your local timezone

The date and time were selected from this poll. The next roundtable event will be held during a different time of day in order to balance out the needs of other timezones.

Location: We’ll use Google Hangouts, so you will be able to join the video call from a phone or computer. At the start of the event, look for the join link which will either be sent to your email or posted on our social media accounts.

Read moreStudent SIG Roundtable #1: Student-Run Game Projects