[Event] AMA #4: Jing Dai, Founder of Immersive Square

Jing runs a VR startup in Seattle called Immersive Square.

Location: The IGDA Student SIG Discord Server, on the #ask-me-anything channel.

Date & Time: Thursday, December 14th at 5:00pm PST, and the event will last for one hour.

Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Thursday 3:00pm HST (Honolulu)
  • Thursday 5:00pm PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Thursday 7:00pm CDT (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Thursday 8:00pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Friday 1:00am GMT (London)
  • Friday 4:00am GMT+3 (Istanbul)
  • Friday 6:30am IST (Mumbai)
  • Friday 9:00am PHT (Manila)
  • Friday 10:00am JST (Tokyo)
  • Friday 12:00pm AEDT (Sydney)

Read more[Event] AMA #4: Jing Dai, Founder of Immersive Square

AMA #3: Christina, Customer Support at Twitch

This is a transcript of an “Ask Me Anything” (AMA) session with Christina, hosted by the IGDA Student SIG. If you’re interested in doing an AMA with students, you can sign up here.

In addition to working at Twitch, Cristina has also been organizing a community for Latinos in Gaming. Follow her on Twitter.

Read moreAMA #3: Christina, Customer Support at Twitch

[Event] AMA #3: Cristina, Customer Support at Twitch

In addition to working at Twitch, Cristina has also been organizing a community for Latinos in Gaming. Follow her on Twitter.

Location: The IGDA Student SIG Discord Server, on the #ask-me-anything channel.

Date & Time: Tuesday, December 12th at 11:00am PST, and the event will last for one hour.

Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Tuesday 9:00am HST (Honolulu)
  • Tuesday 11:00am PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Tuesday 1:00pm CDT (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Tuesday 2:00pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Tuesday 7:00pm GMT (London)
  • Tuesday 10:00pm GMT+3 (Istanbul)
  • Wednesday 12:30am IST (Mumbai)
  • Wednesday 3:00am PHT (Manila)
  • Wednesday 4:00am JST (Tokyo)
  • Wednesday 6:00pm AEDT (Sydney)

Read more[Event] AMA #3: Cristina, Customer Support at Twitch

AMA #2: Eric Cagle, Game Designer

This is a transcript of an “Ask Me Anything” (AMA) session with Eric Cagle, hosted by the IGDA Student SIG. If you’re interested in doing an AMA with students, you can sign up here.

Eric Cagle has 20 years of game design experience and has worked on projects for Wizards of the Coast, Microsoft Game Studios, the Star Wars franchise, and more. Check out his full portfolio.

Read moreAMA #2: Eric Cagle, Game Designer

AMA #1: Samantha Rose, Game Developer

This is a transcript of an “Ask Me Anything” (AMA) session with Samantha Rose, hosted by the IGDA Student SIG. If you’re interested in doing an AMA with students, you can sign up here.

Samantha Rose is a Unity Developer for uGen. She previously worked at an indie game studio that she founded. See her full portfolio and follower her on Twitter.

Read moreAMA #1: Samantha Rose, Game Developer

[Event] AMA #2: Eric Cagle, Game Designer

Eric Cagle has 20 years of game design experience and has worked on projects for Wizards of the Coast, Microsoft Game Studios, the Star Wars franchise, and more. Check out his full portfolio.

Location: The IGDA Student SIG Discord Server, on the #ask-me-anything channel.

Date & Time: Friday, December 8th at 6:00pm PST, and the event will last for one hour. Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Friday 4:00pm HST (Honolulu)
  • Friday 6:00pm PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Friday 8:00pm CDT (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Friday 9:00pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Saturday 2:00am GMT (London)
  • Saturday 5:00am GMT+3 (Istanbul)
  • Saturday 7:30am IST (Mumbai)
  • Saturday 10:00am PHT (Manila)
  • Saturday 11:00am JST (Tokyo)
  • Saturday 1:00pm AEDT (Sydney)

Read more[Event] AMA #2: Eric Cagle, Game Designer

[Event] AMA #1: Samantha Rose, Unity Developer

We have exciting news! We’re kicking off a series of AMA events with professional game developers. AMA, or Ask Me Anything, is a popular format for hosting online discussions where the audience posts questions while the host replies directly to them. The events will be hosted on our Discord Server, so try to be online during the event to ask your questions! You can also sign into our Discord server right now and post your questions to the #ask-me-anything channel.

AMA #1: Samantha Rose, Unity Developer

Samantha Rose is a Unity Developer for uGen. She previously worked at an indie game studio that she founded. See her full portfolio and follower her on Twitter.

Location: The IGDA Student SIG Discord Server, on the #ask-me-anything channel.

Date & Time: Wednesday, December 6th at 1:00pm PST, and the event will last for 30 minutes. Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Wednesday 11:00am HST (Honolulu)
  • Wednesday 1:00pm PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Wednesday 3:00pm CDT (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Wednesday 4:00pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Wednesday 9:00pm GMT (London)
  • Thursday 12:00am GMT+3 (Istanbul)
  • Thursday 2:30am IST (Mumbai)
  • Thursday 5:00am PHT (Manila)
  • Thursday 6:00am JST (Tokyo)
  • Thursday 8:00am AEDT (Sydney)
  • Convert to your local timezone

Meet the New Co-Chairs of the Student SIG

Hello everyone!

Allow me to introduce the Student SIG’s two new co-chairs:

  1. Aaron Oak is an indie game developer. He currently does UI design, community management, and production for the upcoming fighting game Cerebrawl.
  2. Gregory “Rory” Ksionda is a hobbyist game programmer. Rory is currently working in the tech industry as a programmer at Mixpanel.
  3. And of course, I’m still here, so I’ll reintroduce myself: I’m Livio De La Cruz, a freelance programmer who specializes in Unity and VR. I work with a lot of indies/startups.

All of us are in Seattle, WA in the United States.

The Student SIG is getting ready to tackle the new school year. If you lead an academic chapter, you’ll be receiving an email about annual chapter renewal soon.

Also please join our Discord Server! We’re planning on having Discord be the main hub for the Student SIG community going forward.

IGDA Student SIG Roundtable at GDC 2017

Mark your calendars: the Student SIG’s roundtable at GDC has been scheduled! We’re thankful for our partnership with the Game Developers Conference, which allows the IGDA to hosts events like this.

Date & Time: Friday, March 3 at 11:30am
Location: Room 110, North Hall, Moscone Center, San Francisco
Pass Required: Any GDC pass (yes, including student passes)

For more info, see the conference schedule.

GDC Logo